Sweetner – Ariana Grande: Album review

I’ve been long awaiting the release of Ari’s fourth album ever since Dangerous Woman. This era takes us along with her in her new direction of sound and her personal growth. ariana-grande-main-elle

The album starts off with an intro song; raindrops (an angel cried). A simple, sweet tone that really sets up the tone of the album.

The lead single off the album, no tears left to cry, paves the gap between Dangerous Woman and Sweetner. At first I was unsure but soon the single grew to be very catchy and the lyrics were something I could relate to very personally. Ariana-Grande-No-Tears-Left-To-Cry-packshot-cropped-web-optimised-1000

When I first listened to the album, I was a bit underwhelmed. I was a bit sad at first as I wanted to love the whole album, but I felt like I couldn’t distinguish between the different songs as they all had a similar sound. However after a couple of listens I grew to like more of the tracks.

My personal favourites being R.E.M, sweetner, breathin, better off and goodnight n go. These I feel have the most distinguishable and catchy lyrics. I only gave better off more of a chance after hearing Ari explain the meaning behind the song and I listened to the song in a different way. Ari’s Imogen Heap cover of Goodnight and Go is constantly on repeat at the moment. I love how she has taken this cover but made it into her own.

I also love the songs that were released before album; the light is coming and of course God is a woman. God is a woman is a huge single for Ariana as well as for all women. It is a pivotal moment in her career and I feel like will be a permanent favourite. If you haven’t seen the music video you can watch it here!ariana_grande_-_god_is_a_woman_-_screen_shot-h_2018

Sweenter is available to buy and stream now!

Leave a comment and let me know what artists you’re loving right now.

Follow me on social media!

Twitter – @chloconut_xo

Instagram –  @worldofdaydreamer

 

Leave a comment