Brit Awards 2019 Nominations!

I am a massive fan of the Brits and with just under a month till the night I thought I’d share my thoughts and reactions to this years nominees!

Critic’s Choice:

  • Lewis Capaldi
  • Mahalia
  • Sam Fender

I had only heard of Mahalia in this category and am sad that she didn’t win as I love her vibe and her sound! Hopefully we will still have a lot to see from her in the upcoming year! This years winner Sam Fender has a great unique sound so am excited to see more from him.

International Group:

  • Brockhampton
  • The Carters
  • First Aid Kit
  • Nile Rodgers & Chic
  • Twenty One Pilots

For me I only really know of Twenty One Pilots and would love for them to win! I absolutely love their earlier stuff and heard nothing but good things about their live performances. However I am yet to listen to their new music. I don’t think they will win this category but would love it if they did!

International Female Solo Artist:

  • Ariana Grande
  • Camila Cabello
  • Cardi B
  • Christine and the Queens
  • Janelle Monáe

Wow, this is a no brainer for me! I have loved Ariana for many many years and feel like especially within the last few years has come into her own as an artist. It’s a shame that it has taken this long for the industry to recognise her for the talent that she is! I love Camila and Cardi B also but they just don’t compare to Ariana’s level. TBH I’ll be shocked and disappointed if Ari doesn’t take the crown for this one!

International Male Solo Artist:

  • Drake
  • Eminem
  • Kamasi Washington
  • Shawn Mendes
  • Travis Scott

I would absolutely love for Shawn Mendes to win this one! I think at such a young age he has a very mature sound and is very knowledge as to what makes a good song that suits him. However I would not be surprised if this went to one of the other nominees as they have also had great years!

British Single:

  • Anne-Marie – ‘2002’
  • Calvin Harris & Dua Lipa – ‘One Kiss’
  • Clean Bandit feat. Demi Lovato – ‘Solo’
  • Dua Lipa – ‘IDGAF’
  • George Ezra – ‘Shotgun’
  • Jess Glynne – ‘I’ll Be There’
  • Ramz – ‘Barking’
  • Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore, Dan Caplen – ‘These Days’
  • Sigala & Paloma Faith – ‘Lullaby’
  • Tom Walker – ‘Leave A Light On

This one is such a hard one to call! If I did have to say I would maybe say between One Kiss and Shotgun. I personally would love Shotgun to win as it is my favourite from this list! However I did enjoy every single one of these songs throughout last summer so won’t be too disappointed if George Ezra doesn’t get it!

Mastercard British Album of The Year:

  • The 1975 – ‘A Brief Inquiry into Online Relationships’
  • Anne-Marie – ‘Speak Your Mind’
  • Florence + The Machine – ‘High As Hope’
  • George Ezra – ‘Staying At Tamara’s’
  • Jorja Smith – ‘Lost & Found’

I absolutly love The 1975 and was soooo excited for their new music! However I felt like all of their songs they released I loved and their album tracks I didn’t really like as much. However I would still love to see them win as they are such a great band! I also loved Jorja Smith’s album and have listened to it a lot throughout the year. I also saw her live and she was so good and therefore also deserving of the award. I also loved Staying at Tamara’s as it shaped the soundtrack to my summer! I would also be happy to see George Ezra win this one!

British Group:

  • The 1975
  • Arctic Monkeys
  • Gorillaz
  • Little Mix
  • Years & Years

Again like I’ve said before a massive fan of The 1975! I’ve seen them live which is still my favourite concert to date! I have listened to their music for years and just think they are all round amazing at what they do so definitely deserving of this award! Not as much as The 1975, but I have also loved Years & Years for many years. I love their new album and also saw them live for the first time last year which was amazing! I would be so happy for them to win, however I don’t think they are on the same level as the other groups in this category just yet! Finally I would love for Little Mix to win this and feel like their is a strong chance that they will. They are the only girl group in this category and for very good reason! They create great feel good songs and stand up for women and are great role models. I would love for them to win after years they are finally getting the recognition they deserve from the industry!

British Female Solo Artist:

  • Anne-Marie
  • Florence + The Machine
  • Jess Glynne
  • Jorja Smith
  • Lily Allen

This for me is between Lily and Jorja! To put it simply I have loved Lily for years, however I feel like Jorja has had a bigger and stronger year! However all these women are deserving of this award so would be happy to see any of them take it home!

British Male Solo Artist:

  • Aphex Twin
  • Craig David
  • George Ezra
  • Giggs
  • Sam Smith

As I’ve mentioned I loveeee George Ezra, however I think it will be Sam Smith winning this one. I love his voice and his music and is a great artist!

British Breakthrough Act:

  • Ella Mai
  • IDLES
  • Jorja Smith
  • Mabel
  • Tom Walker

I love Mabel and Ella Mai and would love for them to win this award!! However I feel like it may be Jorja or Tom winning this one! This is the category that the general public voted for, you can vote following this link here.

British Artist Video of The Year:

  • Anne-Marie – ‘2002’
  • Calvin Harris & Dua Lipa – ‘One Kiss’
  • Clean Bandit feat. Demi Lovato – ‘Solo’
  • Dua Lipa – ‘IDGAF’
  • Jax Jones feat. Ina Wroldsen – ‘Breathe’
  • Jonas Blue feat. Jack & Jack – ‘Rise’
  • Liam Payne & Rita Ora – ‘For You’ (Fifty Shades Freed)
  • Little Mix feat. Nicki Minaj – ‘Woman Like Me’
  • Rita Ora – ‘Let You Love Me’
  • Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore, Dan Caplen – ‘These Days’

This is another fan voted category which opens on the 3rd of Feb!! I feel like Little Mix fans will drive this one and take away the award!

 

Let me know who you want to win/are excited to see at this years Brits!

The Brits takes place on the 20th Feb at 8pm on ITV 1.

Follow me on Instagram – @worldofdaydreamer

 

 

Leave a comment